Lords of the Drinks

Feyenoord-fans hope for EL-opponent with cheap beers


Fans of Feyenoord Rotterdam love drinking.

The new football season has started and for some teams that means European football. For the fans this equals trips abroad, which stands for several days of drunken fun. If you are lucky of course. Because we all know drinking in Scandinavia can be quite an expensive activity. On the day of the draw for the Europa League (Friday 9th of August, 13.00 o’clock) the fans of Dutch side Feyenoord made a list of all the possible opponents and the estimated prices of beer in those cities. The boys from Rotterdam carry flags with the text “You’ll never drink alone” for a reason. Last year they couldn’t complain (about the beer prices) with trips to Kiev and Prague. For that matter this year Molde or Tromsø from Norway would be a big downer. Although it would offer a good possibility to reach the group phase and have at least three more trips of course.

The list of beers is devided in two sections. The local half a liter sized beers and the imported bottles of 33 centiliters. The numbers seem kind of crazy because these are the average prices. Qarabag from Azerbaijan plays in the country’s capital Baku.

The pricelist of all the possible opponents of Feyenoord Rotterdam.


UPDATE: The number of possible opponents for Feyenoord has been narrowed down to five. The squad from Rotterdam in this round can only meet FC Kuban Krasnodar (Rus), Tromsø IL (Nor), SV Zulte Waregem (Bel), CS Pandurii Târgu Jiu (Roe) and FC Dila Gori (Geo). The winner will go through to the group phase of the Europa League.

Kuban Krasnodar (Rus) – Feyenoord (Ned)
Apollon Limassol (Cyp) – OGC Nice (Fra)
IF Elfsborg (Zwe) – FC Nordsjaelland (Den)
FK Jablonec (Tsj) – Real Betis (Spa)
Molde FK (Noo) – Rubin Kazan (Rus)

Zulte Waregem (Bel) – APOEL (Cyp)
FK Aktobe (Kaz) – Dinamo Kiev (Oek)
Slask Wroclaw (Pol) – Sevilla (Spa)
HNK Rijeka (Kro) – VfB Stuttgart (Dui)
FK Vojvodina (Ser) – FC Sheriff (Mol)

Rapid Wien (Oos) – FC Dila Gori (Geo)
Swansea City (Wal) – Petrolul Ploiesti (Roe)
Red Bull Salzburg (Oos) – Zalgiris (Lit)
Chornomorets Odesa (Oek) – KS Skenderbeu (Alb)
Trabzonspor (Tur) – FK Kukesi (Alb)

Tromso (Noo) – Besiktas (Tur)
Atromitos (Gri) – AZ Alkmaar (Ned)
Qarabag FK (Aze) – Eintracht Frankfurt (Dui)
Maccabi Tel Aviv (Isr) – PAOK FC (Gri)
Esbjerg FB (Den) – Saint-Etienne (Fra)

Pandurii Târgu Jiu (Roe) – SC Braga (Por)
Hafnarfjördur (IJs) – Racing Genk (Bel)
FC Minsk (W-Ru) – Standard Luik (Bel)
FC Sankt Gallen (Zwi) – Spartak Moskou (Rus)
Grasshoppers (Zwi) – Fiorentina (Ita)

Maccabi Haifa (Isr) – FC Astra (Roe)
Udinese (Ita) – Slovan Liberec (Tsj)
Dinamo Tblisi (Geo) – Tottenham Hotspur (Eng)
Estoril (Por) – FC Pasching (Oos)
Nomme Kalju (Est) – FC Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk (Oek)
FK Partizan (Ser) – FC Thun (Zwi)